YOUR TOUCH IS UNHINGING – Steve Toth

YOUR TOUCH IS UNHINGING

Your touch is unhinging
Your eyes express such joy
it makes me forget there’s nothing to fear
The starling flock in my heart is now aflutter
How can you still be dealing me hands
when you’ve already cleaned me out?
You’ve even got me seeing the strangeness
right here in the living room
since you altered my vision with a look

What chance does a solitary star have
against a whole sky full of darkness?
A pretty good one if it’s the sun you are
& this is your solar system
Plug me into your power source
Where thoughts go energy follows
Shattered things don’t just go back
the way they were do they?
Listen while I crash my waves for you

Why didn’t I know there would be such discoveries?
Come let me dig you further
How can I always be in your presence?
You cleared a way when you told me:
“If it wasn’t for this wall
we wouldn’t be needing a window
& if not for this window
I wouldn’t be drawing these curtains aside”
Then you opened me for good

~Steve Toth
